Fibromyalgia – Taking Back Your Power

If you’ve been told you have fibromyalgia you are aware that it is a condition that can only be diagnosed through the process of elimination.   You also know there is no cure, it’s not going to kill you and there isn’t a whole lot anyone can do for you.  After going through test after test and dealing with all the symptoms of this condition as well as this final diagnosis one can be left feeling helpless and powerless.

One important way to take back your power is to take charge of caring for yourself.  Become self-responsible.  In the same way you would care for a child you look at your needs and provide them as best you can.  You make observations about yourself to discover clues as to what is the underlying cause of your condition.  Become self-aware.

My Process

I am offering some of my journey through this as you may find similarities to your situation and be able to apply what I’ve done to your own care.

One of the most unfortunate symptoms I encountered early on was irritable bowel syndrome.  I tried all manner of dietary restrictions to no avail.  I am however happy to report that this is one piece of my puzzle I’ve been able to put to rest (I’ve been free of this for several years now).  I credit healthy eating, the help of an excellent naturopathic herbalist, Susan Jikeli  http://www.green-medicine.ca/ and most importantly beginning a conscious path of inner work and meditation.

This child is enjoying a healthy nap.  The kind of naps taken with chronic fatigue do not leave you feeling refreshed. I would nap afternoons away, get up to make supper and be back in bed in the early evening.

All other symptoms associated with fibromyalgia have decreased dramatically including chronic fatigue and body aches, pains and stiffness.  I do however still have occasional flair-ups of fatigue and pain that can put me down for a day or two and recently began to see a pattern to these occurrences.

Onset of Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia doesn’t come on suddenly.  It takes years of gradual decline to begin to realize your health has been seriously affected.

What begins this process that seems to be cumulative?  In my case I believe it is consciously, unconsciously, intentionally or unintentionally inflicting stress or any extreme on the physical, emotional and mental bodies.

Physical Stress

For example an intentional stress I placed on my physical body was to take up Triathlon.  Now doing this is not really a bad thing.  It can be quite fun and a great way to connect to people with whom you train.

    

But I took it to extremes and found myself doing two or three workouts a day and this put great stress on my physical body.  Other examples of physical body stress might be “all-nighters” or keeping very irregular hours, overeating or starvation diets to name a few.

Emotional Stress

An emotional stressor that was unintentional in my case was dealing with the two-year illness and finally the death of my teenage son.  During this time I also pushed my body but emotionally I kept much of my feelings at bay in order to simply take care of the situation I was facing.   I did not realize the damage I was doing myself by not taking time to face my emotional pain.  Instead I found myself dealing with these much later as I began this new approach to taking care of myself.

Mental Stress

Mental stressors include worrying.  I am a very good worrier, which is not such a good thing.  It is a waste of time and energy and the only thing it does for you is cause distress as you anticipate terrible future events that will likely not happen anyway.  We do ourselves a great favor when we discontinue the worrying train of thought.

Take Charge

It is particularly detrimental to continue indulging in negative practices that you know instinctively are hurting you.  If you have this condition of fibromyalgia I encourage you to engage with others who have found positive ways in which to heal so you can learn from their successes and then share your own.

When we take responsibility for our health in concert with the medical professionals whether mainstream, naturopathic or homeopathic and our spiritual well-being whether through mainstream religion or other non-denominational practises we will begin to see progress in how we generally feel.

The more we see ourselves moving forward the more we will continue to do so.

To Your Good Health and Well Being

About Coach Mary

Mary is a Master Maven Coach (Maven Method™) - one of the deepest reaching and most effective coaching methods at present and is also trained in the Golden Flow™ Method of releasing blocks and flowing with life. She has completed the Mastery of Awareness and Transformation courses with Kris and Kalyn Raphael, certified personal growth guides from the don Miguel Ruiz lineage (world renowned author of The Four Agreements). Mary’s life experience has exposed her to many varied careers, many joys and some deeply painful events. She has released and healed the crushing grief from the death of her son to rediscover the love and joy of life. All have led to an inner awakening and a drive to know her Self deeply and to live life fully, consciously and with Intent. Among her dreams is to guide and support others in their journey through self-awareness and transformation.
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia, healing, Health and Well Being, Self Empowerment, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fibromyalgia – Taking Back Your Power

  1. JazzSoup42 says:

    What a wonderful, helpful, thoughtful and caring post, Mary! I’m so glad you’re writing about this, for myself and many others. Even if I hadn’t been diagnosed with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue myself (upon which you get told, and I hear I’m far from the only one — thus adding mental and emotional stress — that you’re a “hypochondriac” and looking for attention, even if you only go to the doctor, and reluctantly, about once a year — and even though they’re the very ones who tell you that a blood test has confirmed the CF!), I would still greatly appreciate this post, because you’re another resource for learning to deal with these conditions.

    (Is there a cure for run-on-sentence-itis?)

    Your sharing your own experiences is a great help and relief to others.

    This is also my opportunity, because I don’t want to go around commenting on and “liking” every single post, to say that I’m really enjoying and appreciating your month of daily blogging. I hope to soon make a challenge such as this one for myself!

    Thanks again, Mary, and keep up the beautiful and thoughtful posting!

Leave a Reply

